Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Amino acids · Answer

Where can you buy glutamine, beta-alanine and citrulline in South Africa?

In South Africa you can buy glutamine, beta-alanine and citrulline malate online from brand shops (ATP Fitness, USN), Dis-Chem, Clicks, Takealot, Faithful to Nature and Wellness Warehouse. As of October 2026, prices vary by more than 10% for the same product, so compare Rand per dose. Dis-Chem, Takealot and Clicks pages were checked through aggregators.

· 3 min read

Single-ingredient aminos are sold across general pharmacies, health stores, marketplaces and brand sites. The same product often carries different prices at different retailers, so the cheapest place changes by SKU. All figures are as of October 2026.

RetailerWhat we found
ATP Fitness shop (shop.atpfit.co.za)L-Glutamine 200 g R300, Beta-Alanine 200 g R260, Citrulline Malate 250 g R280
USN online shopPure Glutamine 300 g R259; Beta-Alanine 205 g R159.95
Dis-Chem (Living Fit pages)Biogen glutamine 500 g R453, beta-alanine 250 g R219.99, citrulline malate 250 g R329.99; NPL citrulline malate 240 g R344.99; Myprotein glutamine 500 g R549.99
ClicksClicks L-Glutamine 125 g R130; Nutritech glutamine 300 g R168
TakealotMy Whey beta-alanine 250 g R195, My Whey citrulline malate 250 g R199, Muscle Works citrulline malate 180 g R159, Applied Nutrition Beta Alanine 1500 (120 capsules) R149
Faithful to NatureThe Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g R299
Wellness WarehouseNutritech glutamine 300 g R160.95

Dis-Chem, Takealot and Clicks block automated checking, so those prices come from Dis-Chem Living Fit pages and PriceCheck snapshots and carry no date. ATP also lists on Takealot, but we could not confirm its amino listings there.

How should you choose a seller?

  1. Compare Rand per dose, not per tub: R per 5 g for glutamine, R per 3.2 g for beta-alanine, R per 6 g for citrulline malate. See our price guides: glutamine cost per serving, best beta-alanine and best citrulline.
  2. Check who is selling. On Takealot, confirm whether the seller is the brand or a third party; see are Takealot supplements genuine.
  3. Check the label, including batch number and expiry date, which R146 requires.
  4. Watch the regulatory wording. Dis-Chem pages for NPL, USN and Biogen singles call them unregistered medicines not evaluated by SAHPRA. That is a disclaimer, not a safety verdict.
  5. Drug-tested athletes should look for batch-tested products; none of the single aminos above show a verified third-party certificate.

Where is each cheapest?

  • Glutamine: Nutritech (Wellness Warehouse or Clicks), then The Harvest Table (Faithful to Nature).
  • Beta-alanine: My Whey (Takealot) and USN (brand shop), both R2.50 per 3.2 g.
  • Citrulline malate: My Whey (Takealot), R4.78 per 6 g.

ATP Fitness costs more per dose than these, but its aminos are single ingredient with no sweeteners; its trade-offs are the price and that serving size and certification are not published. For ranked pages see best glutamine, best beta-alanine and best citrulline.

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gR per 3.2 gR per 6 gSweeteners
ATP Fitness L-Glutamine200 gR300 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R7.50——None
ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine200 gR260 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)——R4.16—None
ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate250 gR280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)———R6.72None
USN Pure Glutamine 300 g300 gR259 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R4.32——not stated
My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g250 gR199 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)———R4.78not stated
The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g pouch450 gR299 (Faithful to Nature (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R3.32——not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.