We priced eight plain L-glutamine powders in October 2026 and divided by the common 5 g serving. Prices come from brand shops, Dis-Chem, Clicks, Wellness Warehouse and Faithful to Nature; some retailers vary by more than 10%, so we show bands.
| Product | Price (retailer) | Doses of 5 g | R per 5 g | 30 days at 5 g |
|---|
| Nutritech L-Glutamine 300 g | R160.95–R168 (Wellness Warehouse, Clicks) | 60 | R2.68 | R80 |
| The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g | R299 (Faithful to Nature) | 90 | R3.32 | R100 |
| USN Pure Glutamine 300 g | R259 (USN shop) | 60 | R4.32 | R130 |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 500 g | R453 (Dis-Chem) | 100 | R4.53 | R136 |
| Clicks L-Glutamine 125 g | R130 (Clicks) | 25 | R5.20 | R156 |
| Myprotein L-Glutamine 500 g | R550 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 100 | R5.50 | R165 |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 200 g | R255 (Dis-Chem) | 40 | R6.37 | R191 |
| ATP Fitness L-Glutamine 200 g | R300 (ATP shop) | 40 | R7.50 | R225 |
Why do the prices vary?
- Tub size. Biogen's 100 g tub (R199.99) works out at about R10.00 per 5 g, its 200 g at R6.37 and its 500 g at R4.53. Check the Rand per gram before you buy the small one.
- Brand positioning. The Harvest Table and Nutritech are value pouches and tubs. ATP Fitness is a pure, unsweetened single ingredient at a premium; its trade-offs are the highest price per dose, a young brand (est. 2024), and no published serving size or sport certification on the listing we read.
- Retailer. The same brand can be listed at different prices on Takealot, Dis-Chem and its own site.
We did not compute a per-dose price for USN's 150 g Glutamine 9000 (R129–R130) because its serving data is not on the shop page.
Is glutamine worth buying at any price?
Probably not for muscle. A 2019 meta-analysis found no significant effect on athletic performance, body composition or immune function in athletes, and whey already contains glutamine. If you still want a tub, the cheapest decent option is the best choice. See what glutamine does for athletes and how much glutamine per day.
How can you compare quickly?
- Divide the price by grams, then multiply by 5.
- Prefer tubs of 300–500 g if you will finish them.
- Compare the brand's own shop with Takealot and Dis-Chem; see where to buy glutamine and beta-alanine.
- Use the ranked page best glutamine in South Africa.
Drug-tested athletes should know that none of the glutamine listings we read shows a verified third-party certificate.
If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Nutritech L-Glutamine 300 g | 300 g | R160.95-R168 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.68 | not stated |
| The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g pouch | 450 g | R299 (Faithful to Nature (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R3.32 | not stated |
| USN Pure Glutamine 300 g | 300 g | R259 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.32 | not stated |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 500 g | 500 g | R453 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R4.53 | not stated |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 200 g | 200 g | R255 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R6.37 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness L-Glutamine | 200 g | R300 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R7.50 | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.