Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Amino acids · Answer

BCAA vs EAA: which is better in South Africa?

EAAs are the better choice on the science, because building muscle protein needs all nine essential amino acids and BCAAs alone cannot sustain it. But whey protein does the same job for similar money. In South Africa, BCAA and EAA powders cost about R8–R14 per 10 g of powder (October 2026), and the AIS ranks BCAAs as a Group C supplement.

· 3 min read

BCAA or EAA: which is better?

EAAs. The three branched-chain amino acids (leucine, isoleucine, valine) switch on muscle protein synthesis, but building new muscle protein also needs the other six essential amino acids. Wolfe's 2017 review in the Journal of the ISSN concluded that BCAAs alone cannot support a sustained rise in muscle protein synthesis. An EAA mix supplies all nine, and about 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine stimulates muscle protein synthesis, similar to roughly 20–25 g of whey.

That also shows why neither is essential: if you already eat enough protein, you get both from food and whey. The AIS places BCAAs in Group C, meaning not advocated for athletes.

What do they cost in South Africa?

Prices as of October 2026. Amino content per scoop is not published in the text of most listings, so we compare per 10 g of powder, which includes flavouring and any added ingredients.

ProductPrice (retailer)R per 10 g powder
Evox BCAA 12:1:1 + Glutamine 330 gR294.99 (Dis-Chem)R8.94
USN BCAA Super 12:1:1 315 gR299–R314.99 (USN shop, Dis-Chem)R9.49–R10.00
USN ALL9 Amino 330 gR359.95–R362.99 (USN shop)R10.91–R11.00
Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 gR399.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit)R11.11
NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 gR354.99 (Dis-Chem)R11.83

For comparison, NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490 at the NPL shop) works out at R23.52 per 30 g of protein.

Who might still want an amino powder?

  • Plant-based eaters who want a leucine top-up, though a complete plant blend is usually better value.
  • People who cannot tolerate whole protein around training.
  • Fasted trainers who prefer something light, accepting that the benefit is small.

For everyone else, put the money into protein. See do BCAAs work if you already eat enough protein and how to choose a protein powder.

What should you check on an amino label?

  • The ratio and the grams. "12:1:1" describes the leucine:isoleucine:valine split, not the dose.
  • Free amino acids in a protein tub. Cheap added aminos can inflate protein figures; see what is amino spiking.
  • Stimulants. USN Amino Energy adds caffeine and L-carnitine tartrate, with amounts unpublished on the shop page.
  • Certification. USN tags ALL9 Amino as Halaal and Vegan on its own shop. We did not verify these against certifier registers.

Is there a safety issue?

Amino powders are safe at typical doses for healthy adults. Maple syrup urine disease is a contraindication for BCAAs. If you have kidney or liver disease, are pregnant, or take medication, check with your doctor or dietitian first. For ranked picks, see best EAA supplement in South Africa and best whey protein in South Africa.

Under-18s should meet protein needs from food rather than amino-acid or fat-loss powders.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsSweeteners
USN ALL9 Amino 330 g330 gR359.95-R362.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—not stated
Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g360 gR400 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—not stated
USN BCAA Super 12:1:1 315 g315 gR299-R314.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—Not stated; page says zero sugar, zero sodium, stimulant-free
NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g300 gR355 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—not stated
Evox BCAA 12:1:1 + Glutamine 330 g330 gR295 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.