An EAA supplement supplies all nine essential amino acids. About 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine stimulates muscle protein synthesis, equal to roughly 20–25 g of whey. So the question is whether your EAA product delivers that dose and whether it is cheaper than whey. We compared what is stated on seller pages in October 2026.
How do South African EAA products compare?
| Product | Price (retailer) | R per 10 g powder | What the page states |
|---|
| USN ALL9 Amino 330 g | R359.95–R362.99 (USN shop) | R10.91–R11.00 | All nine EAAs incl. BCAAs; amounts not on page; tagged Halaal and Vegan by USN |
| Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g | R399.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R11.11 | Nine EAAs; amounts not read |
| NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g | R354.99 (Dis-Chem) | R11.83 | BCAA-led mix with EAAs; amounts not read |
| USN Amino Energy 300 g | R259–R324.99 (USN shop, Dis-Chem) | R8.63–R10.83 | EAAs plus caffeine and L-carnitine tartrate; caffeine mg unpublished |
The per 10 g figure is powder weight, not EAA content, so it overstates the value if a scoop contains flavouring and sweeteners. We could not verify leucine per serving for any of them.
What should an EAA label show?
- Each essential amino acid in mg, not a blend total.
- Leucine of about 2–3 g per serving, the range the ISSN uses for a protein dose (700–3 000 mg).
- A serving of about 10–15 g of EAAs. If a scoop holds 5 g, you need several.
- Stimulant disclosure. Avoid Amino Energy-style products in the evening.
- Sweeteners. USN ALL9's sweeteners are not stated on its shop page.
Is whey a better deal?
Usually. NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490, NPL shop) costs R23.52 per 30 g of protein, and whey delivers all the essential amino acids plus extra benefits. EAAs earn their place mainly for plant-based eaters wanting a leucine boost, people who cannot take whole protein around training, or situations where protein is hard to eat. See BCAA vs EAA in South Africa and best whey protein in South Africa.
Are there any cautions?
EAAs are safe at typical doses for healthy adults. Check with a doctor or dietitian if you have kidney or liver disease, are pregnant, or take medication. Drug-tested athletes should know that no EAA product above shows a verified third-party certificate. Related: leucine supplement: do you need it and how much BCAA and EAA cost.
Under-18s should meet protein needs from food rather than amino-acid or fat-loss powders.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN ALL9 Amino 330 g | 330 g | R359.95-R362.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g | 360 g | R400 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g | 300 g | R355 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| USN Amino Energy 300 g | 300 g | R259-R324.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.