Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Collagen · Answer

Where can you buy collagen powder in South Africa?

In South Africa you can buy collagen powder from Faithful to Nature, Dis-Chem and Dis-Chem Living Fit, Clicks, Partners Hair, Knysna Health, brand shops such as Biogen and ATP Fitness, and marketplaces. As of October 2026 powders range from R10.44 to R17.68 per 10 g, with ATP Fitness's own shop cheapest on our tubs.

· 3 min read

Where is collagen sold in South Africa?

Collagen is sold through health shops, pharmacies, beauty retailers and brand websites. Prices below are from October 2026 and per 10 g of powder unless stated.

WhereWhat we foundExample price
ATP Fitness shop (shop.atpfit.co.za)Hydrolysed Collagen, single ingredient, 10 g per scoop910 g R950 (R10.44 per 10 g); 450 g R530 (R11.78)
Faithful to NatureWidest range of tubs: The Harvest Table, Beauty Gen, Sally-Ann Creed, Amandean, Motherkind, Noa & Co, Sir Francis marineHarvest Table 800 g R909 (R11.36); Amandean 1 kg R1 499 (R14.99)
Dis-Chem / Dis-Chem Living FitDis-Chem Gold capsules, Biogen capsules and ready-to-drink, Collagen Cafe liquid (select stores)Dis-Chem Gold 90 capsules R250; Collagen Cafe 500 ml R859.99
Biogen shop (biogen.co.za)Platinum Collagen with Peptan powders320 g flavoured about R410 to R420 (R12.81)
ClicksSfera marine collagen capsules and house-brand rangesPrice not captured
Partners HairBe Bright, MetaBody, Mankind collagen powdersMetaBody 300 g R336 sale (R11.20)
Knysna Health (via PriceCheck)Sport Rx Collagen Rx, MojomeSport Rx 600 g about R688 to R695 (R11.47)

ATP Fitness also lists Takealot and Amazon among its channels and sells through gyms and wholesale. We did not verify a collagen listing on Takealot in October 2026, so check the live page before relying on it. Collagen Cafe is stocked in select Dis-Chem stores, according to a Dis-Chem Living Fit news item from November 2025, so ask your branch.

How should I choose where to buy?

  1. Compare per 10 g, not per tub. A R400 tub can cost more per dose than a R950 one. Our cheapest collagen per 10 g article has the full table.
  2. Check the dose. Capsules often list 1.2 g to 1.8 g a day, roughly one-eighth to one-fifth of a 10 g scoop (powder vs capsules vs liquid).
  3. Read the ingredient list. Single-ingredient powders (hydrolysed bovine collagen only) are easiest to compare; creamers and "beauty" blends cost more per gram of collagen.
  4. Look for batch information. No collagen product in our research has a verified third-party sport certification, and only one claims heavy-metal testing. Ask the seller for a certificate of analysis (safety).
  5. Beware of inflated claims such as "FDA approved" or "WADA certified" on a listing; neither is a normal description for a food supplement and neither could be verified.

Which option suits whom?

  • Lowest cost per dose: ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen, bought direct from the brand. Trade-offs: it is a young brand (2024), unflavoured, with a smaller retail footprint than Dis-Chem or Biogen, and no published third-party certificate.
  • Walk-in convenience: Dis-Chem Gold or Biogen products, at a higher cost per dose.
  • Variety and refills: Faithful to Nature.
  • Named peptide ingredient: Biogen's Peptan.

See the best collagen in South Africa for our ranking method.

Collagen is mostly sold as a food or an unregistered complementary product, so buy from a seller who lists a South African address, batch number and expiry date, as required by the R146 labelling regulation.

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 10 gSweeteners
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen910 gR950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)91R10.44None
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen450 gR530 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)45R11.78None
The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill800 gR909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)50R11.36none
Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan 320 g (Grape / Red Apple / Tropical)320 gR409.99-R419.99 (Biogen shop, 2026-10)26R12.81sucralose (all flavours); polydextrose in Grape and Red Apple
MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen 300 g300 gR336-R420 (sale vs regular) (Partners Hair, 2026-10)—R11.20not stated
Collagen Cafe liquid collagen (500 ml bottle / 14- and 28-day sachet sets)500 ml bottle or sachet setsnot published (Dis-Chem Living Fit news (14 Nov 2025), 2026-10)——zero sugar (sweetener not stated)

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.