How we calculated it
We divided the shelf price by the pack weight and scaled to 10 g, the usual trial-style dose. Where a label does not state collagen grams, the figure is a price per 10 g of powder and assumes the ingredient list is collagen only. ATP's figures use its stated 10 g per scoop. Prices are from the retailer shown, October 2026.
Collagen powders, cheapest first
| Product | Pack and price | R per 10 g | Retailer |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g, R950 | R10.44 | ATP shop |
| MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen | 300 g, R336 sale (R420 regular) | R11.20 (R14.00 regular) | Partners Hair |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen refill | 800 g, R909 | R11.36 | Faithful to Nature |
| Sport Rx Collagen Rx | 600 g, R688 to R695 | R11.47 | Knysna Health (via PriceCheck) |
| Beauty Gen Naked Collagen Complete | 600 g, R699 | R11.65 | Faithful to Nature |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 450 g, R530 | R11.78 | ATP shop |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Hydrolysed Collagen | 650 g, R796 special (R995 regular) | R12.25 (R15.31 regular) | Faithful to Nature |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, flavoured | 320 g, about R410 to R420 | R12.81 | Biogen shop |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, unflavoured | 280 g, R410 | R14.64 | Biogen shop |
| Amandean Premium Collagen Peptides | 1 kg, R1 499 | R14.99 | Faithful to Nature |
| Mojome Pure Collagen (Bovine) | 500 g, R884 | R17.68 | Knysna Health (via PriceCheck) |
Beauty Gen Naked Collagen plus Creatine (450 g, R499, R11.09 per 10 g) is left out of the ranking because it is a hybrid. Across all the collagen powders we priced, the median was about R13.89 per 10 g.
What about capsules, liquids and marine?
- Capsules: My Wellness Collagen Peptides (R185 for 90 capsules, 1.8 g per three capsules) is about R34 per 10 g. Biogen's value pack works out near R61 and Dis-Chem Gold near R69 per 10 g, at a label dose of only 1.2 g a day.
- Liquid: Collagen Cafe, 10 g per 20 ml, is R859.99 for 500 ml at Dis-Chem Living Fit, about R34.40 per 10 g (our calculation: the page does not state servings, so we assume 25 x 20 ml).
- Marine: Sir Francis Marine Collagen is from R164 on Faithful to Nature, roughly R20.50 per 10 g if the pack is 80 g (the pack mapping is unconfirmed).
More on formats in powder vs capsules vs liquid.
Is the cheapest the best?
Price per dose is only one test. ATP Fitness is the lowest on cost per 10 g and on a single-ingredient label with no sweeteners, but the 910 g tub needs R950 upfront, it is unflavoured, and no third-party testing or certificates of analysis are published that we could find. If you want a named branded peptide, Biogen's Peptan is the only one we confirmed in SA retail. For metals and contamination, see is collagen powder safe from heavy metals.
Also look at the dose: a cheap tub is only good value if you will actually take 10 g a day (how much collagen per day). Our full ranking is on the best collagen in South Africa page.
If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 10 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | 91 | R10.44 | None |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 450 g | R530 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | 45 | R11.78 | None |
| MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen 300 g | 300 g | R336-R420 (sale vs regular) (Partners Hair, 2026-10) | — | R11.20 | not stated |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 50 | R11.36 | none |
| Sport Rx Collagen Rx 600 g (Willow Wellness) | 600 g | R688-R695 (Knysna Health (via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R11.47 | not stated |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan 320 g (Grape / Red Apple / Tropical) | 320 g | R409.99-R419.99 (Biogen shop, 2026-10) | 26 | R12.81 | sucralose (all flavours); polydextrose in Grape and Red Apple |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.