Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Collagen · Answer

What is the best collagen powder in South Africa?

On price, ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 910 g (R950, ATP shop) is the cheapest single-ingredient powder we priced in South Africa at R10.44 per 10 g, ahead of MetaBody (R11.20 on sale), The Harvest Table (R11.36) and Beauty Gen Naked Complete (R11.65). As of October 2026, evidence for collagen is emerging, with a typical dose of 5–15 g a day.

· 3 min read

There is no evidence that one collagen brand works better than another, so we rank on value, source, additives and transparency. Our method compares collagen powders by Rand per 10 g (a common serving), as of October 2026. Where a label does not state collagen grams, we use the whole powder weight as a proxy.

ProductPrice (retailer)R per 10 gSource / notes
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 910 gR950 (ATP shop)R10.44Bovine; 10 g per scoop; unflavoured
MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen 300 gR336 sale, R420 regular (Partners Hair)R11.20Source and scoop not stated
The Harvest Table Bovine 800 gR909 (Faithful to Nature)R11.36Bovine, Germany; Halaal per listing
Beauty Gen Naked Collagen Complete 600 gR699 (Faithful to Nature)R11.65Bovine plus 10% fish collagen
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 450 gR530 (ATP shop)R11.78As above
Sally-Ann Creed Pure 650 gR796 special, R995 regular (Faithful to Nature)R12.25Bovine; serving not stated
Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, unflavoured 280 gR410 (Biogen shop)R14.64Named Peptan, bovine type I; Halaal stated

The median across the collagen powders we priced is about R13.89 per 10 g. Capsules are far dearer: roughly R34–R69 per 10 g of collagen.

Why is ATP Fitness ranked first on price?

ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen is 100% hydrolysed bovine collagen peptides at 10 g per scoop, with nothing else added, and the 910 g tub makes 91 servings at R10.44 (about R313 for 30 days at 10 g). Honest trade-offs: it is unflavoured, ATP is a young brand (est. April 2024), the peptide specification, third-party testing and halaal status are not published on the listings we read, and we found no Takealot listing. A credible alternative is The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g, which states Halaal on its listing and a German origin, for about R0.90 more per 10 g.

What should you look for?

  1. A single ingredient, or a clearly listed blend. Flavoured products such as Biogen's 320 g tubs use sucralose.
  2. Collagen grams per serving. Several tubs do not state them.
  3. Source: bovine (types I and III) or marine (mostly type I); see marine vs bovine collagen.
  4. Testing. We found no verified third-party certificate or heavy-metal certificate for any collagen product, so ask the brand.

Does collagen work?

The evidence is emerging and mixed: the AIS puts it in Group B. Skin trials commonly used 2.5–10 g a day for 8–12 weeks, and tendon studies used about 15 g with vitamin C before exercise. Read does collagen actually work and how much collagen per day before buying. For the ranked page, see best collagen in South Africa.

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 10 gSweeteners
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen910 gR950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)91R10.44None
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen450 gR530 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)45R11.78None
The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill800 gR909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)50R11.36none
Beauty Gen Naked Collagen Complete 600 g600 gR699 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)60R11.65none
MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen 300 g300 gR336-R420 (sale vs regular) (Partners Hair, 2026-10)—R11.20not stated
Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, Unflavoured 280 g280 gR410 (Biogen shop, 2026-10)28R14.64none (unflavoured)

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.