Weight · Answer

Which supplements help during a cutting phase in South Africa?

During a cut, the supplements with strong evidence are protein powder (to reach 1.6–2.4 g/kg), creatine monohydrate at 3–5 g a day and caffeine at 3–6 mg/kg before training. Fat burners, BCAAs and testosterone boosters are weak or risky. In South Africa creatine costs about R2–R5 per 5 g (October 2026).

· 3 min read

What helps most when you are cutting?

A cutting phase is a calorie deficit while trying to keep muscle. Supplements cannot create that deficit, but a few make it easier to protect muscle and keep training quality. Using the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) framework and our evidence library:

TierSupplementRole in a cutEvidence
Group A (strong)Whey or other protein powderHit 1.6–2.4 g/kg without extra caloriesStrong
Group ACreatine monohydrate, 3–5 g/dayKeeps strength and training qualityStrong
Group ACaffeine, 3–6 mg/kgBetter training when tiredStrong
Group A (if deficient)Vitamin D, ironOnly to correct a documented shortfallModerate to strong
Group B (emerging)Fish oil, multivitamin, collagenOptionalEmerging
Group C (not advocated)BCAA, HMB, magnesiumNot worth it if protein is adequateWeak
Group D (banned or risky)Stimulant fat burners, herbal testosterone boostersAvoidWeak, with safety concerns

Which protein powder and how much?

ISSN guidance is 1.4–2.0 g/kg a day for most exercisers, with 2.3–3.1 g/kg suggested for trained people preserving lean mass in a deficit. See how much protein to lose fat. Whey isolate gives the least carbohydrate and fat per scoop: Primal Whey Isolate 750 g is R700 at Dis-Chem Living Fit (R93 per 100 g), and USN Isozero 805 g is R899–R909.99 on the USN shop (October 2026). Our best whey isolate comparison covers the field.

How much does creatine cost, and will it hide fat loss?

Creatine monohydrate costs, per 5 g in October 2026: Pure Natural Options 500 g R2.22 (Knysna Health), Nutritech 500 g R2.50 (Wellness Warehouse, which lists a range from R249.95), and ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine 600 g R4.17 (R500, shop.atpfit.co.za). Expect 1–2 kg of extra body water in the first weeks, because creatine pulls water into muscle. This is not fat, but it can confuse the scale, so judge progress by waist measurement and photos. ATP's creatine is a single ingredient and micronised; its trade-off is that third-party sport certification is not published, so drug-tested athletes may prefer a batch-tested option. See our best creatine comparison.

Is caffeine worth using?

Yes, as a training aid. Ultra Caffeine 200 mg costs about R3.32 a capsule on Takealot. Keep to 3–6 mg/kg and avoid evening doses. See caffeine and fat loss.

What should you skip?

  • Fat burners and "testosterone boosters": weak benefit, more risk, and a real contamination issue for athletes (are fat burners safe).
  • BCAAs: pointless if your daily protein is adequate.
  • Rapid weight-loss plans: losing faster than about 1% of body weight a week costs muscle (how fast is safe).

Who should get advice first?

People with kidney disease, those on medication, pregnant women and under-18s should consult a doctor or registered dietitian before adding supplements. Hormonal and eating-disorder concerns are a medical, not a supplement, issue.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gR per 100 g powderR per servingSweeteners
Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g500 gR222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.22——not stated
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50——not stated
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17——None
Primal Whey Isolate (750 g)750 gR700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)——R93.33—sucralose
Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules)60 capsulesR199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10)60——R3.32Not published

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.