What should you look for in a protein powder for weight loss?
- Protein density. More protein per kilojoule helps you stay full on fewer calories. Listed examples: Evox 100% Whey Advanced gives 23 g protein for 120 kcal (about 19 g per 100 kcal), Myprotein Impact Whey 23 g for 114 kcal (about 20 g per 100 kcal), Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 24 g for 120 kcal.
- Cost per 30 g of protein, not per tub.
- Low sugar and carbohydrate, which matters if you are counting energy tightly.
- Sweeteners and tolerance. Most local whey uses sucralose; some people prefer unsweetened.
- Honest labelling. South African studies found that protein products often differ from their labels: Schönfeldt and colleagues found 68.6% of 70 products differed significantly from claimed protein.
How do the options compare on cost?
Computed from listed serving data, October 2026 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, brand shops):
| Product | Type | Cost per 30 g protein |
|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg | multi-source blend (includes pea, rice, egg) | about R23.50 |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey 1 kg | whey blend | about R28 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced 908 g | whey blend | about R31 |
| NPL Platinum Whey 908 g | whey blend | about R33 |
| USN Isozero Whey Isolate 805 g | isolate (20 g protein per 23 g scoop) | about R38.50 |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium 750 g | blend sold as isolate | about R44 |
| NPL 100% Whey Isolate 700 g | isolate | about R48.50 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg | concentrate/blend, imported | about R51 |
Is whey isolate better for weight loss?
Not by much. Isolate typically has slightly less fat and lactose and a bit more protein per gram, but muscle and fat-loss outcomes per gram of protein are equivalent. A cheaper blend at 20 g protein per 100 kcal does the same job for less money. Choose isolate if you are lactose-sensitive (whey isolate vs concentrate). Note that NPL and Primal isolates still contain sucralose.
How much protein do you need while dieting?
The ISSN position stand suggests 1.4 to 2.0 g per kg of body weight a day for most exercisers, and 2.3 to 3.1 g per kg may help preserve lean mass during calorie restriction in trained people. For a 75 kg person that is roughly 105 to 150 g a day, or up to about 230 g for lean trained dieters. A shake can fill the gap, but food comes first (how much protein to lose fat).
Where does ATP Fitness fit?
ATP sells unsweetened, single-ingredient whey, which suits people who want no sweeteners: Unflavoured WPI 800 g is R900 (out of stock online when checked), Madagascan Vanilla WPI R950 and Unflavoured WPC 1 kg R800 at shop.atpfit.co.za. Per 100 g of powder that is R112.50 for the isolate and R80 for the concentrate. Trade-offs: ATP does not publish protein per serving or a nutrition panel in the listings we read, so we cannot work out cost per 30 g protein or protein per kilojoule; its isolates cost R112.50 to R118.75 per 100 g of powder against about R111.68 for USN Isozero (October 2026); there are fewer flavours; and no third-party sport certification is published. A credible alternative is USN Isozero (Informed Choice stated on the brand's page, not checked against the register).
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | None |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.