A well-planned vegan diet can support sport, and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics' position stand on vegetarian diets supports it for all life stages, with vitamin B12 from fortified foods or supplements as the main non-negotiable. The rest depends on your diet, blood tests and training. Speak to a registered dietitian and your doctor, especially if pregnant, under 18 or on medication.
| Supplement | Why | Evidence | Practical notes |
|---|
| Vitamin B12 | no reliable unfortified plant source; deficiency harms blood and nerves | strong consensus | dose and frequency depend on form; get B12 tested and ask a dietitian |
| Creatine monohydrate | vegan diets supply almost no dietary creatine; stores start lower | strong (AIS Group A; ISSN) | 3–5 g a day; any time; synthetic creatine is vegan, but check capsules for gelatine |
| Algae-based EPA and DHA | plant ALA converts poorly to EPA and DHA, fish oil is not vegan | moderate | common intakes are about 1–2 g a day of EPA+DHA (ISSN 2025); check mg of EPA+DHA on the label, not total oil |
| Vitamin D | limited sun, winter or indoor training | moderate | meet the recommended intake; upper limit 100 µg (4 000 IU) a day; most D3 comes from sheep lanolin, so choose D2 or lichen-based D3 |
| Iron | endurance and menstruating athletes, vegans at higher risk | strong when deficient | only after ferritin and haemoglobin tests, with medical guidance |
| Zinc, iodine, calcium | lower availability on plant diets | weak to moderate | review the diet first; zinc upper limit is 25 mg a day |
What about creatine in South Africa?
Vegetarians respond well because their dietary intake is low. As of October 2026, creatine monohydrate costs from about R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222) and R2.50 (Nutritech 500 g, from R249.95) to R4.17 (ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g, R500). ATP's creatine is single-ingredient and micronised, but the cheaper brands cost about half as much per 5 g, and no third-party certification is published for ATP. See creatine for vegetarians and vegans, is creatine vegan and the best creatine ranking.
What about protein powder?
Plant powder fills protein gaps. Use 30–40 g per serving, a pea-and-rice or soy blend, and expect about R8–R30 per 25 g of protein (best vegan protein). Consumer Reports' 2025 US testing found plant powders carried more lead than dairy ones, so rotate brands.
What should you not buy?
Generic "vegan multivitamins" are not a substitute for testing, and "energy" or testosterone boosters carry contamination risk for drug-tested athletes (SAIDS holds athletes strictly liable). Iron should never be taken without a blood test; accidental iron overdose is a leading poisoning risk for small children, so store it safely.
When should you test?
Check B12, ferritin and vitamin D at the start of a training block and yearly after. For omega-3 and algae oil, see the best vegan omega-3; no algae-oil products are in our October 2026 price dataset, so we do not rank any.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | None |
| Faithful to Nature (FtN) Pea Protein Isolate Powder (650 g) | 650 g | R148-R185 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | — | R11.38 | R28.46 | none |
| USN BlueLab 100% Plant Based Protein (900 g) | 900 g | R399-R474.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R24.54 | R52.78 | sucralose, acesulfame-K, steviol glycosides |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.