Is creatine made from animals?
Creatine occurs naturally in meat and fish, and your body makes some itself. The creatine in supplements, however, is manufactured by chemical synthesis, so a plain creatine monohydrate powder contains no animal-derived material. That is why it is widely accepted as suitable for vegans. The remaining question is what else is in the tub.
What should vegans check on a creatine label?
- Capsule or softgel shell: many capsules are gelatine, which is animal-derived. Creatine HCl products sold as softgels, for example NPL Creatine HCl 120 softgels (R339.99 at Dis-Chem Living Fit), need checking with the manufacturer; we did not verify the shell material.
- Flavours and blends: creatine mixed with carbohydrates, aminos or "matrix" ingredients can add non-vegan items. Pure powders are simplest.
- Certification: a "vegan" statement is a brand claim unless a vegan certification body is named. Among South African products in our research, USN's shop tags its Pure Creatine (200 g, 300 g and 410 g) as Vegan and Halaal, and New Leaf's micronised creatine listing says vegan; neither names a certifier. ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate is a single-ingredient powder, but vegan certification is not published.
Why does it matter more for vegans and vegetarians?
Because vegans eat no meat or fish, their muscle creatine stores start lower. In a double-blind study of 18 vegetarians and 24 non-vegetarians (Burke et al. 2003), vegetarians began with lower muscle creatine and gained more muscle creatine, lean mass and work capacity on supplementation. Creatine is an AIS Group A performance supplement, and the ISSN position stand recommends 3-5 g a day.
See creatine for vegetarians and vegans for dosing detail.
What does vegan-friendly creatine cost in South Africa?
As of October 2026, plain monohydrate powders cost between R2.22 and R5.55 per 5 g at mainstream retailers. Examples:
| Product | Price | R per 5 g |
|---|
| USN Pure Creatine 300 g | R279 to R299 (USN shop) | about R4.98 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine 600 g | R500 (ATP shop) | R4.17 |
| New Leaf Micronised Creatine 150 g | R415 (Faithful to Nature) | R13.83 |
If you need a verified vegan or halaal mark, ask the brand for its certificate rather than relying on the retailer page. For all options, see the best creatine in South Africa.
Who should ask a professional first?
People with kidney disease, those on medication that affects the kidneys, and pregnant or breastfeeding women should speak to a doctor before taking creatine. Under-18s should not self-prescribe; see creatine and teenagers.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| New Leaf Creatine Powder Micronised 150 g | 150 g | R415 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R13.83 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.