The table uses only figures published on brand or retailer pages in October 2026. "Not published" means we could not find the figure, not that it is absent from the physical tub.
| Product | Price (retailer) | Caffeine | Other published doses |
|---|
| Biogen Premium 600 g | R399.99–R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 150 mg | Beta-alanine 3.5 g, citrulline malate 4 g, creatine 3 g |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 g | R489.99–R499 (USN shop) | 300 mg (global page; SA tub unconfirmed) | Citrulline malate 6 g, beta-alanine 4 g, creatine 3 g |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 g | R214–R232.99 (USN shop) | 150 mg headline | Dynamine 32.5 mg |
| Cellucor C4 Original 195 g | R699–R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 200 mg (US page) | Beta-alanine 2 g |
| ON Gold Standard 330 g | R899.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | Not published | Acetyl-L-carnitine 375 mg |
| NPL Blackout 400 g | R599.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | Not published | None |
| Biogen Rage Rampage 400 g | R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | Present, mg not stated | Beta-alanine 3.2 g, arginine 2 g per ~20 g |
| Evox Alpha Surge 400 g | R316.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | Not published | None |
Which is the best value?
Where servings are stated, Cellucor C4 (30 servings) is R23.30–R25.10 each and Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard (30 servings) is R30. USN XTS Hyperdrive has a 5.3 g scoop, so a 210 g tub holds about 40 servings, roughly R5.40–R5.88 each. That is a derived figure and the lowest we found, but it also has the lowest dose panel. Servings are not stated for most other tubs, so a fair per-serving ranking is not possible.
Which brands are most transparent?
- Best disclosed: Biogen Premium and USN Qhush Platinum Black print caffeine and the main actives.
- Partly disclosed: Biogen Rage Rampage and Cellucor C4.
- Little or nothing online: NPL, Evox and the Clicks and Nutritech house tubs. Read the physical label before buying. See what a proprietary blend means.
What about certification and sweeteners?
Biogen (Informed Sport) and USN (Informed Choice, on XTS Hyperdrive) state third-party testing on their own pages. We did not check these against the certifiers' registers, so treat them as seller claims. SAIDS endorses no brand. NPL, Biogen Rage Rampage and Cellucor C4 use sucralose; USN Qhush Platinum Black uses acesulfame-K and sucralose on its global page.
How should you choose?
- Decide whether you want caffeine at all. If not, see best stimulant-free pre-workout.
- Compare caffeine per serving with 3 mg/kg of your body weight.
- Prefer products that disclose every dose, then compare price.
- Drug-tested athletes should read pre-workout banned substances first.
For a ranked list, see best pre-workout in South Africa.
Under-18s and pregnant women should avoid stimulant pre-workouts. If you have high blood pressure, a heart-rhythm problem or kidney disease, or take regular medication, speak to a doctor first.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g | 300 g | R489.99-R499 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page) |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | not stated |
| Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g | 195 g | R699-R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R25.10 | Sucralose and acesulfame potassium |
| NPL Blackout Pre-Workout 400 g | 400 g | R600 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.00 | Sucralose |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout 330 g | 330 g | R900 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R30.00 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.