Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Collagen · Answer

Is Collagen Cafe a good collagen brand in South Africa?

Collagen Cafe is a South African liquid collagen giving 10 g of hydrolysed type I and III collagen per 20 ml serving, with vitamin C, magnesium and black-pepper extract, stocked in select Dis-Chem stores. Its 500 ml bottle costs R859.99, about R34.40 per 10 g on our assumption of 25 servings, roughly three times powder. Its collagen source and certifications are not published (October 2026).

· 3 min read

What is Collagen Cafe?

According to a Dis-Chem Living Fit news item (14 November 2025), Collagen Cafe is a South African liquid collagen supplement newly stocked in select Dis-Chem pharmacies. The product pages give these facts:

  • Dose: 10 000 mg (10 g) of hydrolysed type I and III collagen per 20 ml serving.
  • Extras: vitamin C, magnesium and Bioperine (a black-pepper extract), included, per the brand's description, to aid absorption and efficacy.
  • Flavour: Natural Tangerine; described as zero sugar. The sweetener, if any, is not stated.
  • Formats: a 500 ml bottle, and 14-day and 28-day sachet sets.
  • Directions: one 20 ml serving a day, straight from the cap or mixed into a drink.
  • Warning on the page: consult a doctor before use if pregnant or breastfeeding.

What is not published?

We could not find, as of October 2026: the collagen source (bovine or marine), the full ingredient list, any halaal or other certification, any third-party testing or certificate of analysis, or a SAHPRA statement on the page we checked. These gaps do not mean the product is poor, but they limit what we can say.

How does the price compare?

Dis-Chem Living Fit lists the 500 ml bottle at R859.99 (October 2026). At 20 ml per serving that is about 25 servings (our calculation, not stated on the page), or roughly R34.40 per 10 g dose.

FormatR per 10 g collagen (October 2026)
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen powder, 910 g (R950, ATP shop)R10.44
The Harvest Table Bovine powder, 800 g (R909, Faithful to Nature)R11.36
Biogen Peptan powder, 320 g flavoured (about R410 to R420, Biogen shop)R12.81
My Wellness capsules, 90 (R185, Faithful to Nature)about R34
Collagen Cafe liquid, 500 ml (R859.99, Dis-Chem Living Fit)about R34.40

So Collagen Cafe provides a trial-sized dose, which many capsules do not, but at about three times the cost of the cheapest powders (powder vs capsules vs liquid).

Strengths, trade-offs and who it suits

Strengths: a full 10 g dose in a small serving; convenient for travel or the office; sold in a mainstream pharmacy chain; vitamin C included.

Trade-offs: price per dose; undisclosed source and certification; extra ingredients you may not need. Black-pepper extract (piperine) can change how the body absorbs and breaks down some medicines, so ask a pharmacist if you take regular medication. Magnesium is a Group C supplement in the AIS framework (not advocated without a clinical reason), and the amount in the product was not captured.

It suits people who value convenience over cost and have checked the label. It does not suit those who need halaal or other certification, want the lowest cost per dose, or avoid undisclosed ingredients.

Is the collagen effective?

Collagen evidence is emerging (AIS Group B), and nothing in the product is unusual relative to powders: 10 g a day is a reasonable trial-style dose (how much collagen per day). We did not find published trials of this specific product.

Alternatives

If cost is the priority, ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen is the cheapest powder we priced; its trade-offs are that it is unflavoured, a young brand (2024), and has no published third-party certificate. See the cheapest collagen per 10 g and our best collagen in South Africa comparison.

The page advises a doctor's check in pregnancy and breastfeeding. Under-18s and people with kidney disease should also get advice first.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 10 gSweeteners
Collagen Cafe liquid collagen (500 ml bottle / 14- and 28-day sachet sets)500 ml bottle or sachet setsnot published (Dis-Chem Living Fit news (14 Nov 2025), 2026-10)——zero sugar (sweetener not stated)
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen910 gR950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)91R10.44None
The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill800 gR909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10)50R11.36none
Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan 320 g (Grape / Red Apple / Tropical)320 gR409.99-R419.99 (Biogen shop, 2026-10)26R12.81sucralose (all flavours); polydextrose in Grape and Red Apple

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.