We priced 25 collagen products from brand shops and retailers in October 2026. For powders we divide the tub price by the grams in the tub and multiply by 10; where the listing does not state collagen grams, we assume the powder is all collagen, which is a proxy.
| Type | Price per 10 g | Examples |
|---|
| Single-ingredient bovine powder | R10.44–R17.68 | ATP Fitness 910 g R950 (R10.44); The Harvest Table 800 g R909 (R11.36); Sally-Ann Creed 650 g R796 special (R12.25); Amandean 1 kg R1 499 (R14.99); Mojome 500 g R884 (R17.68) |
| Multi-source or blended powder | R11.65–R21.40 | Beauty Gen Complete 600 g R699 (R11.65); The Harvest Table Multi 450 g R625 (R13.89); Noa & Co Creamer 350 g R749 (R21.40) |
| Marine powder | about R20.50 | Sir Francis from R164, pack mapping unconfirmed |
| Capsules | about R34–R69 | My Wellness 90 capsules R185 (R34.26); Biogen value pack 180 capsules R440 (R61.11); Dis-Chem Gold 90 capsules R250 (R69.44) |
| Ready-to-drink | R36.99–R41.99 per bottle | Biogen Collagen Refreshed 300 ml; collagen grams not verified |
Collagen Cafe liquid (10 g per 20 ml) is R859.99 for 500 ml at Dis-Chem Living Fit; if the bottle gives 25 servings (the page does not state servings) that is about R34.40 per 10 g.
What does a month cost?
At 10 g a day for 30 days: ATP Fitness 910 g about R313; ATP 450 g about R353; the median powder about R417; the dearest single-ingredient bovine powders about R530. At 5 g a day, halve those figures. Capsules at the label dose of 1.2 g a day cost roughly R6–R8 a day but deliver about one-eighth of a 10 g scoop.
Why do prices vary?
- Sale versus regular prices. MetaBody 300 g is R336 sale (R420 regular), Be Bright Original 300 g R470 (R520), Sally-Ann Creed R796 (R995) and Motherkind 500 g R879.20 (R1 099). We show bands where gaps exceed 10%.
- Tub size. Large tubs cost less per gram.
- Positioning. Women's-wellness and beauty brands such as Motherkind (R17.58) and Be Bright Luminate (R16.60) cost more than plain peptides.
- Retailer. Faithful to Nature, Partners Hair, Knysna Health and brand shops differ.
Is cheaper better?
Not automatically. Check collagen grams per serving, source, additives and whether the brand publishes testing. We found no verified third-party or heavy-metal certificate for any collagen product. ATP's strengths are the lowest price per 10 g and a single ingredient; its trade-offs are an unflavoured product, a young brand (est. 2024), and no published certification or halaal status. The Harvest Table is a credible alternative at R11.36.
Since the evidence for collagen is emerging, set a budget before you start. See does collagen actually work, cheapest collagen per 10 g, best collagen powder and best collagen in South Africa.
If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 10 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | 91 | R10.44 | — | None |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 450 g | R530 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | 45 | R11.78 | — | None |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 50 | R11.36 | — | none |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Hydrolysed Collagen 650 g | 650 g | R796-R995 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R12.25 | — | none |
| Dis-Chem Gold Hydrolysed Collagen 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | — | R8.33 | none listed (page says sugar free) |
| Biogen Collagen Refreshed ready-to-drink 300 ml (Passion Fruit Coconut) | 300 ml | R36.99-R41.99 (Dis-Chem (via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 1 | — | R36.99 | not verified |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.