Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Pre-workout · Answer

Where can you buy pre-workout in South Africa?

In South Africa you can buy pre-workout at Dis-Chem (Biogen, NPL, Evox, Cellucor C4, MuscleTech, USN, Optimum Nutrition), Clicks (Nutritech, Clicks house brand, USN), Takealot, and brand shops such as USN and Biogen. Prices for the same tub differ between retailers by up to about 10% or more, so compare before you buy (October 2026).

· 3 min read

The main places, as of October 2026:

  • Dis-Chem (stores and the Living Fit online shop): the widest range, including Biogen Premium and Rage Rampage, NPL Blackout, Hyper Pump and N.O Charge, Evox Alpha, Cellucor C4, MuscleTech Vapor X5, Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard and USN.
  • Clicks: Nutritech Nuke, the Clicks house-brand pre-workout and USN products.
  • Takealot: imports and local brands, often with sale pricing. C4 and NPL N.O Charge both appear here.
  • Brand shops: USN and Biogen (biogen.co.za) sell direct online.
  • Specialist and gym shops: independent supplement stores operate in all the metros. We have not verified specific stock or prices, so check before you go.

How do prices compare?

ProductWherePrice (October 2026)
USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 gUSN shop / Dis-ChemR214 / R228.99–R232.99
Biogen Premium 600 gDis-ChemR399.99–R429.99
Cellucor C4 Original 195 gTakealot / Dis-ChemR699 / R699–R752.99
NPL N.O Charge 420 gTakealot / Dis-ChemR429 / R472.99
USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 gUSN shop / Dis-ChemR489.99–R499
Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme 400 gDis-Chem Living FitR249.95
Clicks Pre-Workout Formula 240 gClicksR155
Nutritech Nuke 240 gClicksR259

Prices change often and many listings move with promotions. Check the per-serving cost, not the tub price: see cheapest pre-workout per serving.

How do you avoid counterfeit or grey-market stock?

  • Buy from the brand, Dis-Chem, Clicks or Takealot itself rather than anonymous marketplace sellers. See are Takealot supplements genuine.
  • Check the tub for an intact seal, batch number, best-before date and a South African importer or distributor name and address, as R146 requires.
  • Be careful with imported US tubs sold by third parties: the local label, caffeine amount and ingredients can differ from the brand's US page. Cellucor C4's 200 mg figure, for example, comes from its US page.
  • Reject any tub with no ingredient panel or with a proprietary blend that hides the doses.

Are there age restrictions?

We did not find a published age restriction at the retailers we checked, so do not assume a shop will stop a teenager. That does not make it safe: under-18s should not use pre-workout, and you should read the warning panel on each label.

What should you look for on the page or label?

  1. Caffeine in mg per serving. Many local listings do not state it.
  2. Every ingredient dose, with no proprietary blend.
  3. Serving size and servings per tub.
  4. A third-party testing claim you can check, if you are drug-tested. Biogen Premium and USN XTS Hyperdrive state batch testing (seller claims).
  5. A SAHPRA disclaimer where relevant: Dis-Chem lists amino-acid singles as unregistered complementary medicines not evaluated by SAHPRA.

Is there a cheaper route?

A coffee and single ingredients cost less than a branded tub and let you see every dose. ATP Fitness sells pure Citrulline Malate (R280 for 250 g) and Beta-Alanine (R260 for 200 g) at shop.atpfit.co.za, with no sweeteners or flavouring, though My Whey is cheaper on both and ATP publishes no sport certification. See build your own pre-workout.

For a ranking, read the best pre-workout in South Africa and Dis-Chem versus Clicks versus Takealot.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)——not stated
USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g210 gR214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)—R5.40not stated
Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g195 gR699-R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)30R25.10Sucralose and acesulfame potassium
NPL N.O Charge Pre-Workout 420 g420 gR429-R472.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)——Sucralose
Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g400 gR250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit (Living Fit shop), 2026-10)——not stated
Nutritech Nuke Pre-Workout 240 g240 gR259 (Clicks (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)——not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.