What does a multivitamin cost per day and per month?
We priced seven multivitamins from Dis-Chem Living Fit (Dis-Chem prices, including VAT) and Faithful to Nature on 27 October 2026. Per-day cost uses the label dose, so a two-capsule product is not penalised for having a bigger pack.
| Product | Pack and price | Label dose | Days per pack | Per day | Per 30 days |
|---|
| Tony Ferguson Multivitamin Mineral Complex | 60 tablets, R182 | 1 | 60 | R3.03 | about R91 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin Supreme Active | 60 softgels, R200 | 1 | 60 | R3.33 | about R100 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin For Woman | 60 capsules, R133 | 2 | 30 | R4.43 | about R133 |
| New Leaf Multivitamin Plus Iron | 90 tablets, R409 | 1 | 90 | R4.54 | about R136 |
| Viridian High Five | 90 capsules, R675 | 1 | 90 | R7.50 | R225 |
| Solgar Formula VM-2000 | 60 tablets, R499 | 2 | 30 | R16.63 | R499 |
| MuscleTech Platinum 100% Multi Vitamin | 90 capsules, R550 | 3 | 30 | R18.33 | R550 |
The middle of this sample, a product at around R4.50 a day, is the typical price for a pharmacy-style multivitamin.
What explains the price gap?
- Dose and forms. Chelated minerals, methylated B vitamins and whole-food bases cost more than oxide or sulphate forms.
- Brand and import status. Solgar and MuscleTech are imported premium names; Dis-Chem Gold is the pharmacy's own line.
- Servings per day. A three-capsule product runs out in a month. Always divide by the label dose.
- Retailer. Brand shops, Takealot and pharmacy specials differ. Where retailers disagree by more than 10 percent, we report a band; for these seven products we could read one retailer each. Clicks, Takealot and Wellness Warehouse shelf prices were not captured.
Is a more expensive multivitamin better?
Not necessarily. What you need is a product near 100% of daily needs for the nutrients you are short of, not the most expensive one. Evidence for general-population benefit is weak (do multivitamins work?). If you take a multivitamin mainly for B12, the R3.33 Dis-Chem Gold softgel gives 10 µg of B12 and the R7.50 Viridian capsule gives 50 µg. If you need low iron, Viridian has 1 mg per capsule against 10 mg in Supreme Active, so the cheaper product is not the right choice for every person.
How do you compare prices fairly?
- Find the label dose, not the pack count.
- Divide the pack price by the number of days it lasts.
- Check amounts of vitamin D, iron, zinc, B12 and vitamin C against what you actually need.
- Compare at the same retailer on the same day, and note specials.
For a method you can reuse across supplements, see how to compare supplement prices per serving. For help choosing, read the best multivitamin in South Africa, and for the wider ranking see our best multivitamin page. Compare retailers using Dis-Chem vs Clicks vs Takealot.
Monthly costs are our own calculations from shelf prices on one date; they will move with specials and stock, so check the live price before you buy.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| Tony Ferguson Multivitamin Mineral Complex 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R182 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.03 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin Supreme Active 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R200 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.33 | glycerol (132 mg sugar source per capsule) |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin For Woman 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R133 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R4.43 | sorbitol 70% and glycerine in capsule fill |
| New Leaf Multivitamin Plus Iron High Strength 90 tablets | 90 tablets | R409 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R4.54 | not stated |
| Viridian High Five Multivitamin and Mineral 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R675 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R7.50 | none |
| Solgar Formula VM-2000 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R499 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 30 | R16.63 | mannitol, maltodextrin |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.