Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Amino acids · Answer

Citrulline malate vs L-citrulline: which is better?

Neither is proven better for performance. Citrulline malate 2:1 is two parts L-citrulline to one part malic acid, so 6 g contains roughly 4 g of citrulline; pure L-citrulline studies use about 3–6 g. Compare by citrulline per Rand. In South Africa citrulline malate costs R4.78–R8.62 per 6 g (October 2026).

· 3 min read

Citrulline is converted to arginine in the kidneys and can raise nitric-oxide production more effectively than taking arginine itself. The benefit for athletes is emerging: more reps in high-rep sets and less soreness have been reported, but trials are mixed and effects small. A 2021 critical review in the European Journal of Applied Physiology (Gough et al.) called the evidence equivocal. We found no head-to-head trial showing that the malate form beats pure citrulline, or the reverse.

What does "2:1" mean?

Citrulline malate combines L-citrulline with malic acid. A 2:1 product is two parts citrulline to one part malate by weight, so a 6 g scoop holds roughly 4 g of citrulline. Gough and colleagues also noted that third-party analysis suggests labelled ratios are not always accurate.

FormTypical studied doseCitrulline delivered
Citrulline malate 2:16–8 groughly 4–5 g
Pure L-citrullineabout 3–6 g3–6 g

Take about 60 minutes before training. Malic acid is sold with the idea that it helps energy production, but that role is unproven.

How do the prices compare in South Africa?

We priced citrulline malate only; we did not price pure L-citrulline powders, so we cannot compare the two forms by cost. Citrulline malate prices as of October 2026, at 6 g:

ProductPrice (retailer)R per 6 gR per g of citrulline if 2:1
My Whey Citrulline Malate 250 gR199 (Takealot)R4.78about R1.19
Muscle Works 180 gR159 (Takealot)R5.30about R1.32
ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate 250 gR280 (ATP shop)R6.72about R1.68
Biogen L-Citrulline Malate 250 gR329.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit)R7.92about R1.98
NPL L-Citrulline Malate 240 gR344.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit)R8.62about R2.16

Biogen's scoop is 4.8 g (R6.34 a scoop), so a 6 g dose is more than one scoop. ATP Fitness is a single ingredient with no sweeteners; its trade-offs are that it costs about 40% more than My Whey, is a young brand, and publishes no certification or third-party ratio check. My Whey is the cheaper alternative.

Which should you choose?

  1. Decide on a target of about 4 g or more of actual citrulline.
  2. Divide the price by the citrulline you get, using the table.
  3. Check whether the label states the 2:1 ratio.
  4. Pre-workouts often contain less than a full dose; see citrulline dose for pumps.

Any cautions?

Citrulline can add to the pressure-lowering effect of nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors such as sildenafil and blood-pressure medicines, so speak to your doctor if you take them. Mild stomach upset is possible. Under-18s and pregnant or breastfeeding women should seek medical advice first. See also arginine vs citrulline and best citrulline in South Africa.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 6 gSweeteners
My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g250 gR199 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R4.78not stated
Muscle Works Citrulline Malate 180 g180 gR159 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R5.30not stated
ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate250 gR280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R6.72None
Biogen L-Citrulline Malate Powder Unflavoured 250 g250 gR330 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R7.92not stated
NPL L-Citrulline Malate Powder 240 g240 gR345 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R8.62not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.