What does a genuine halaal or kosher claim look like?
A genuine claim names the certifier and shows its logo on the pack. In South Africa, halaal certifiers include the Muslim Judicial Council (MJC), the South African National Halaal Authority (SANHA) and the National Independent Halaal Trust (NIHT); kosher certification comes from a Beth Din. Certification is granted per product (and often per flavour), not per brand, and it can lapse.
Why do supplements need extra checking?
Animal-derived ingredients are common in supplements:
- Gelatine capsules are usually bovine or porcine. The Dis-Chem Gold hydrolysed collagen and omega-3 capsules we reviewed use bovine gelatine, with halaal stated on the page.
- Collagen is made from bovine hides or fish; bovine collagen needs halaal-slaughtered sourcing to qualify.
- Whey and flavourings can involve rennet or alcohol-based flavour carriers. See is whey protein halaal.
- Other additives such as glycerol, stearates and colours may be animal-derived.
What do South African brands state?
As of October 2026, our research recorded these seller or retailer statements. We did not check any of them against a certifier's own register:
| Brand / product | What is stated |
|---|
| USN (selected products, e.g. Pure Creatine, BCAA Super, Pure Glutamine) | Halaal tag on the USN shop; some flavours certified |
| Sport RX Creatine 500 g | Certified halaal, per Faithful to Nature page |
| Empyre For Men Prime Creapure 300 g | Certified kosher and halaal, per Faithful to Nature page |
| The Harvest Table Multi Collagen | Halaal (MJC), per listing |
| Biogen collagen with Peptan | Halaal stated on the Biogen range page; certifier not captured |
| 32Gi range | Described as kosher and halaal in a Comrades Marathon blog (brand claim) |
| ATP Fitness | Halaal and kosher status are not published |
Some listings also carry claims we could not verify, such as "WADA certified" or "FDA approved" on a collagen powder. Be cautious when a listing stacks many certifications with no logos.
How do you verify a claim?
- Check the pack for the logo and certificate number, not just the word "halaal".
- Match the flavour and pack size to the certificate. A halaal vanilla does not cover a chocolate.
- Contact the certifier (MJC, SANHA or NIHT) or the brand's customer service and ask for the certificate.
- For capsules, ask what the capsule shell is made from; vegetarian shells avoid the gelatine question.
- Re-check periodically, because certificates are renewed.
Faith-based sourcing is a personal decision, and a mosque, imam or kosher authority is the right place to settle an ingredient you are unsure of. For collagen specifically, read is collagen halaal in South Africa.
What if you need a vegan option as well?
Halaal does not mean vegan. Creatine monohydrate is made synthetically; see is creatine vegan. Compare options in our best creatine and best collagen guides.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 10 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | — | not stated |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R379-R389 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.89 | — | not stated |
| Empyre For Men Prime Creapure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R850-R949 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R15.82 | — | not stated |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 50 | — | R11.36 | none |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, Unflavoured 280 g | 280 g | R410 (Biogen shop, 2026-10) | 28 | — | R14.64 | none (unflavoured) |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.