Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Pre-workout · Answer

When should you take pre-workout?

Take pre-workout 30–60 minutes before training, because caffeine peaks about an hour after you swallow it. Citrulline malate also works best about 60 minutes before. Beta-alanine and creatine do not need pre-workout timing. Avoid taking it within 8–10 hours of bedtime, which rules out most evening sessions.

· 3 min read

30–60 minutes before training. The ISSN position stand puts caffeine's peak at around 60 minutes after capsules or coffee, and citrulline malate protocols also use about 60 minutes. Taking a scoop five minutes before your first set means the effect arrives after your warm-up. Caffeinated gum acts faster, closer to the start.

What does the timing depend on?

IngredientBest timingWhy
Caffeineabout 60 minutes beforePeaks about an hour after intake
Citrulline malateabout 60 minutes beforeStudied at 6–8 g in that window
Beta-alanineAny time, dailyWorks by loading over weeks, not acutely
CreatineAny time, dailySaturates stores; timing is minor
Sweeteners, BCAAs, glutamineNot time-criticalLittle or no acute effect

So in a ready-made tub, only the caffeine and citrulline are timed. The rest is a daily-loading supplement.

Should you take it with food?

On an empty stomach, caffeine absorbs faster but can cause nausea and jitters. A light snack or meal 1–2 hours earlier helps. If you train fasted in the morning, start with half a scoop and plenty of water. Mix every scoop; never dry scoop. See dry scooping.

What time of day is best?

Morning and early afternoon. Caffeine has a half-life of about five hours, so a 300 mg scoop at 17:00 still leaves roughly 150 mg in your system at 22:00. If you train after work:

  • Choose a lower-caffeine or stimulant-free option. USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free is listed at R309.95–R349.99 (October 2026).
  • Use half a scoop of a 150 mg product such as Biogen Premium.
  • Or skip the stimulant and take citrulline malate alone.

Read more in pre-workout and sleep.

How much should you take?

Start with half a scoop and work up. A useful target is 3 mg of caffeine per kg of body weight, about 210 mg for a 70 kg person, and no more than 400 mg across the day. Count coffee and energy drinks. See how much caffeine is in pre-workout.

Do you need to take it every training day?

No. Using caffeine on every session builds tolerance, and the effect shrinks. Many lifters save it for hard sessions, competitions or races. Beta-alanine and creatine, in contrast, should be taken every day.

Heat, hydration and the SA climate

In hot, humid conditions such as a Durban summer or a Joburg gym without air conditioning, drink 400–600 ml of water with your scoop and avoid high caffeine doses if you are already dehydrated. Palpitations or dizziness mean you should stop; see pre-workout heart palpitations.

Who should skip it?

Under-18s, pregnant or breastfeeding women, and people with heart conditions, hypertension, anxiety disorders or certain medicines should not use pre-workout without a doctor's advice. A cheaper way to time caffeine is a 200 mg capsule (R3.32, Takealot, October 2026) or coffee. Compare options in our best pre-workout in South Africa guide.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per servingR per 6 gSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)———not stated
USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g234 gR309.95-R349.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10)———not stated
Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules)60 capsulesR199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10)60R3.32—Not published
My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g250 gR199 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)——R4.78not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.