Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

By sport · Answer

Which supplements help powerlifters in South Africa?

For powerlifting, creatine monohydrate (3 to 5 g a day) is the best-supported supplement, followed by enough protein (1.4 to 2.0 g per kg a day) and caffeine (3 to 6 mg per kg) on competition day. Creatine costs roughly R67 to R134 a month in South Africa (October 2026). Check your federation's drug-testing rules before taking any product.

· 3 min read

What has strong evidence for strength sports?

Powerlifting is maximal strength in three lifts, so the list is short. All of these sit in the Australian Institute of Sport's Group A (strong evidence) or protein basics:

SupplementDoseWhat it does
Creatine monohydrate3 to 5 g/day (ISSN)supports strength, power and lean mass
Protein1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day; about 0.25 g/kg per dosemuscle repair and growth
Caffeine3 to 6 mg/kg, about 60 minutes beforesmall gains in maximal strength (about 2 to 7%)

Beta-alanine matters little for one-rep efforts (it helps 1 to 4 minute efforts), and citrulline evidence is emerging and mixed.

How much does creatine cost per month?

At 5 g a day you use about 150 g a month. Using October 2026 tub prices:

TubPer 5 gAbout per month
Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health)R2.22R67
Nutritech 500 g, R249.95 to R399R2.50 to R3.99R75 to R120
ATP Fitness Micronised, 600 g, R500R4.17R125
Biogen 500 g, R445R4.45R134

ATP Fitness is single-ingredient micronised creatine; the trade-offs are a young brand (2024) and no published third-party certification, while Biogen's listing claims Informed Sport (unverified). If you are tested, treat certification as a priority. See best creatine in South Africa and how much creatine per day.

What about weigh-ins and weight classes?

Creatine draws about 1 to 2 kg of water into muscle in the first weeks. If you compete in a tight class, start well before a meet and learn your own response. Do not use diuretics, saunas or severe fluid restriction to cut weight; it can be dangerous and impairs strength.

How do you use caffeine on meet day?

Take 3 to 6 mg/kg about an hour before your first lift; an 80 kg lifter takes 240 to 480 mg. Do not exceed this, since around 9 mg/kg adds side effects without benefit. A small top-up before deadlifts is common. Use a measured source, such as 200 mg capsules (Ultra Caffeine, R199 for 60 on Takealot via PriceCheck, about R3.32 each); never use pure caffeine powder. Test in training. See can you take creatine with caffeine.

What about drug testing?

Many powerlifting federations and meets are drug tested. Under the World Anti-Doping Code, adopted in South Africa through SAIDS, you are strictly liable for what is in your body, and SAIDS flags muscle-building and testosterone-booster products as highest risk. Avoid prohormones, SARMs and proprietary blends, and look for batch-tested products (can creatine cause a failed drug test).

Who should check with a professional?

Kidney disease, medication that affects the kidneys, pregnancy and under-18s should speak to a doctor or registered dietitian first. Creatine can raise blood creatinine, so tell your doctor you take it.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 5 gR per servingSweeteners
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)—R4.17—None
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)100R4.45—None (unflavoured)
Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g500 gR222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.22—not stated
Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g500 gR249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)—R2.50—not stated
Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules)60 capsulesR199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10)60—R3.32Not published

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.