What has evidence for CrossFit-style training?
CrossFit mixes heavy lifting, gymnastics and 1 to 20 minute conditioning pieces. The Australian Institute of Sport's Group A (strong evidence) covers the supplements that match those demands:
| Supplement | Dose | Best for |
|---|
| Creatine monohydrate | 3 to 5 g/day (ISSN) | strength, repeated sprints, lean mass |
| Protein | 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day | recovery from high training volume |
| Caffeine | 3 to 6 mg/kg, about 60 minutes before | power, endurance, perceived effort |
| Beta-alanine | 4 to 6 g/day, doses of 2 g or less | efforts of about 1 to 4 minutes |
| Sodium bicarbonate | 0.2 to 0.3 g/kg, 60 to 180 minutes before | 30 seconds to 12 minutes; high GI risk |
Citrulline malate (6 to 8 g about an hour before) has emerging, mixed evidence. Magnesium and BCAAs sit in the AIS's "not advocated" Group C.
What does it cost in South Africa?
October 2026 prices:
- Creatine monohydrate: from R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 at Knysna Health via PriceCheck) to R6.25 (Foundation Creapure, 400 g, R500). ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine 600 g costs R500, or R4.17 per 5 g; Biogen 500 g costs R445, or R4.45 per 5 g. ATP is a single-ingredient, young brand with no published third-party certification; Biogen's page claims Informed Sport (seller claim, unverified). See best creatine in South Africa.
- Beta-alanine: USN 205 g R160 (about R3.12 to R4.68 for a 4 to 6 g day), Biogen 250 g R220 (about R3.52 to R5.28), ATP Fitness 200 g R260 (about R5.20 to R7.80). ATP is the dearest per dose of these three; the product is pure with no additives. See best beta-alanine.
- Caffeine: Ultra Caffeine 200 mg capsules, 60 for R199 on Takealot via PriceCheck (about R3.32 each).
What about pre-workouts?
Most CrossFitters reach for a pre-workout, but the label often hides the dose. Published caffeine figures are 150 mg (Biogen Premium, USN XTS Hyperdrive), 200 mg (Cellucor C4) and 300 mg (USN Qhush Platinum Black, global page); many South African products give no milligrams. SAIDS singles out stimulant pre-workouts and fat burners as higher-risk categories for contamination, and athletes are strictly liable under the WADA code. If you compete in tested events, avoid proprietary blends and use single ingredients from batch-tested sources. See best pre-workout.
How do you structure it?
- Take creatine daily at any time; no loading is needed (how much creatine per day).
- Add beta-alanine in split doses (how much beta-alanine per day); tingling (paraesthesia) is harmless but annoying above about 800 mg in one go.
- Use caffeine before your hardest sessions, not daily; sleep matters more.
- Hit your protein with food first, then whey. See creatine and caffeine.
Safety
Creatine: speak to a doctor if you have kidney disease or take regular medication, and tell them you take it, as it raises creatinine. Caffeine: avoid in pregnancy beyond limited intake, with heart-rhythm problems, hypertension or anxiety. Under-18s should follow a food-first approach. Bicarbonate is high in sodium and causes bloating; trial it in training only.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 3.2 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | — | — | None (unflavoured) |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | not stated |
| USN Beta-Alanine 205 g | 205 g | R160 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R2.50 | — | Not stated (flavoured variants Cola, Apple) |
| ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine | 200 g | R260 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R4.16 | — | None |
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | R3.32 | Not published |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.