Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Buying guide · Answer

Local vs imported supplements: which should you buy in South Africa?

Local brands usually win on price and freshness: in October 2026 imported whey such as Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard (R1 150 for 900 g) or Myprotein Impact (R1 300 for 1 kg) costs roughly 1.6-4 times a local tub per kilogram. Imports are not safer, and local is not automatically worse, so judge by label transparency, price per dose and traceability.

· 3 min read

How much more do imports cost?

Imported whey sold in South Africa sits at roughly 1.6-4 times local mainstream pricing per tub. As of October 2026:

ProductOriginPriceR per 100 g powderR per 30 g protein
NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kgSouth AfricaR490R49.00R23.52
USN BlueLab Whey 1 kgSouth AfricaR689R68.90about R28
Evox Whey Advanced 908 gSouth AfricaR670R73.79about R31
Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kgUnited KingdomR1 300R130.00about R51
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 900 gUnited StatesR1 150R127.78not calculated (serving size not captured)

Optimum Nutrition and Myprotein are sold in South Africa through local retailers (Dis-Chem Living Fit and Takealot), so the import is already handled by a local retailer.

What does the extra money buy?

Mostly brand and scale. Imported brands often have bigger marketing budgets and wider flavour ranges. Per gram of protein, muscle outcomes from whey are essentially the same regardless of brand. Local brands often publish scoop-level protein (USN BlueLab 23.6 g per 32 g scoop; NPL Platinum Whey 22.5 g per 32 g).

Are imported products safer?

Not automatically. Country of origin is a poor guide to contamination risk. Geyer and colleagues (2004) found undeclared steroids in 18.8% of products from the UK and USA, and 25.8% from the Netherlands. Two South African studies found label problems in local products (a University of Pretoria study of 70 products and a study of 15 best-selling whey brands, where 8 of 11 locally made products missed draft amino-acid criteria), but brands were not named and the criteria were not law. The fair reading is that quality problems appear in both local and imported products, so look for traceability.

What are the freshness and authenticity issues?

  • Freshness. Local products travel shorter distances and sit in fewer warehouses, but check the expiry on any tub.
  • Authenticity. A product bought through a South African retailer carries a local importer or manufacturer address under R146. Personal imports from overseas marketplaces do not offer this protection; see can you import supplements.
  • Sport. Athletes are liable for what is in their sample regardless of origin.

How should you decide?

  1. Compare cost per 30 g protein or per dose, not tub price.
  2. Check the label for protein per 100 g, sweeteners and importer address.
  3. Prefer batch-tested options if you are drug-tested; see what third-party tested means.
  4. Buy imports only where they are unique (a flavour, a formula) or you value the brand.
  5. Consider clean-label local options. ATP Fitness is a South African brand with a minimal-ingredient approach; its trade-offs are higher price per 100 g and no published protein per serving or certification.

Read imported versus local whey, is Optimum Nutrition original in South Africa and our best whey protein guide.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg)1 kgR490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10)25R23.52R49.00sucralose
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R28.03R68.90not stated
Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g)908 gR670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R30.80R73.79not stated
Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)—R50.87R130.00sucralose
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g)900 gR1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)——R127.78not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.