Independent South African deskPrices checked 27 October 2026
Healthnews24

Health, fitness and the supplement aisle. An independent South African desk.

Healthy ageing · Answer

What is sarcopenia and can supplements help?

Sarcopenia is the age-related loss of muscle strength and mass; the European EWGSOP2 consensus defines it primarily by low muscle strength, confirmed by low muscle quantity or quality. Resistance training is first-line. Protein of 1.0–1.2 g per kg a day, vitamin D if deficient, and creatine alongside training may help; supplements alone do not reverse it.

· 3 min read

What is sarcopenia?

Sarcopenia is a progressive loss of skeletal muscle strength and function, most common in older adults. The 2019 European consensus (EWGSOP2, Cruz-Jentoft et al.) puts low muscle strength first: a person has probable sarcopenia when strength is low, the diagnosis is confirmed when low muscle quantity or quality is also found, and it is severe when physical performance is poor as well. Typical screening uses a grip-strength test (cut-offs of about 27 kg for men and 16 kg for women) or a five-times chair-stand test taking longer than 15 seconds. A doctor, biokineticist or dietitian can arrange these.

What causes it?

Inactivity, too little protein, illness, hormonal changes and chronic inflammation all contribute. Weight-loss diets without resistance training can accelerate muscle loss in older adults, and some medicines and long hospital stays make it worse.

Can supplements help?

Supplements support, but do not replace, training. Evidence by option:

OptionEvidenceNotes
Resistance trainingStrongfirst-line; two to three sessions a week
ProteinStrong1.0–1.2 g/kg/day (PROT-AGE), 25–30 g per meal
Creatine monohydrateModerate3–5 g a day with training adds lean mass and strength
Vitamin DModeratehelps if deficient; EFSA upper limit 100 mcg (4 000 IU) a day
Leucine or BCAA aloneWeakenough protein from food or whey covers this
CollagenEmergingnot a good muscle-building protein

What dose and products make sense?

For protein, aim for the PROT-AGE target; see how much protein do older adults need. A whey isolate shake can fill a breakfast gap. In October 2026, USN Isozero cost R899–R910 for 805 g at the USN shop (20 g protein per 23 g scoop), and ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine cost R500 for 600 g (about R2.50 a day at 3 g, ATP shop). Cheaper creatine exists, such as Pure Natural Options at R222 for 500 g (Knysna Health via PriceCheck); ATP's trade-offs are that it is not the cheapest and publishes no third-party certification. See creatine for older adults.

For vitamin D, the Dis-Chem Gold 1 000 IU tablet was R160 for 60 (Dis-Chem Living Fit), but get tested first.

What does a practical plan look like?

  1. Ask your doctor to screen strength if you notice weakness, slow walking or difficulty rising from a chair.
  2. Start supervised resistance training twice a week and build up.
  3. Spread protein across the day.
  4. Add creatine and vitamin D only if they fit your situation.
  5. Re-test after three to six months.

More detail in how to prevent muscle loss with age.

When should you see a doctor?

See your doctor for falls, unintentional weight loss, or rapidly worsening weakness, which can signal other conditions. People with kidney disease should not increase protein or start creatine without medical advice. This is general information, not personal medical advice.

Products mentioned

ProductSizePrice (source, date)ServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderR per 5 gR per servingSweeteners
USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)805 gR899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10)—R38.53R111.68——not stated
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate600 gR500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10)———R4.17—None
Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g500 gR222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10)———R2.22—not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets60 tabletsR160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10)60———R2.67not stated

Sources

Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.