Aim for two to three full-body resistance sessions a week and 1.0–1.2 g of protein per kg of body weight a day, spread over at least three meals. This pairing preserves and can rebuild muscle; protein or exercise alone does less.
What does a weekly plan look like?
| Day | Session |
|---|
| Monday | Full-body strength (45–60 min) |
| Tuesday | 30–45 min walk or easy cycle |
| Wednesday | Rest or balance and mobility |
| Thursday | Full-body strength |
| Friday | Walk, swim or easy cycle |
| Saturday | Optional third strength session or sport |
| Sunday | Rest |
Each strength session should cover a squat or sit-to-stand, a hip hinge (such as a Romanian deadlift or hip raise), a push (press or incline push-up), a pull (row), a loaded carry, and core or balance work. Do 2–3 sets of 8–12 repetitions, finishing with 2–3 repetitions in reserve, and add small increments each week. Include balance work to reduce falls. The WHO recommends muscle-strengthening on at least two days a week for adults and multicomponent balance and strength training for older adults. A biokineticist or physiotherapist can tailor this.
How much protein, and when?
The PROT-AGE group recommends 1.0–1.2 g/kg/day for healthy older adults, with 25–30 g per meal to reach roughly 3 g of leucine. For a 75 kg person, that is 75–90 g a day:
- Breakfast: three eggs and Greek yoghurt, or a whey shake with milk (25–30 g).
- Lunch: a palm-sized portion of chicken, fish or lean beef, or pilchards on toast (25–30 g).
- Supper: meat, fish or a legume-and-dairy dish (25–30 g).
- Optional: a casein or yoghurt snack before bed (30–40 g in studies).
Protein after a session is convenient, but total daily intake and even spacing matter more than a narrow post-workout window. See how much protein do older adults need.
Do supplements help?
Whey isolate fills gaps; creatine at 3–5 g a day adds a modest gain in lean mass and strength when combined with training (2017 meta-analysis). October 2026 examples: USN Isozero 805 g, R899–R910 at the USN shop (20 g protein per 23 g scoop); Primal Whey Isolate 750 g, R700 at Dis-Chem Living Fit (sucralose); Pure Natural Options Creatine 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health via PriceCheck), about R2.22 per 5 g. Compare options in our whey isolate comparison and creatine comparison, and see creatine for older adults.
What are the safety checks?
- Get medical clearance if you have heart disease, high blood pressure that is poorly controlled, osteoporosis, joint replacements or recent surgery.
- Learn technique first; start with light loads.
- Stop and seek help for chest pain, severe breathlessness or sharp joint pain.
- Do not increase protein or take creatine with kidney disease without medical advice.
What about sticking with it?
Track sessions in a notebook, train with a friend or at a gym with qualified instructors, and expect to feel stronger in 6–12 weeks. Read how to prevent muscle loss with age for the bigger picture.
When should you see a doctor?
See a doctor before starting a programme if you are unsure about your heart, bones or medicines. This is general information, not personal medical advice.
Products mentioned
| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | — | not stated |
| Primal Whey Isolate (750 g) | 750 g | R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R93.33 | — | sucralose |
| NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R900 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R48.46 | R128.57 | — | sucralose |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | — | R2.22 | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | — | R2.50 | not stated |
Educational information, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease. Prices were observed in October 2026 and are not offers.